Online Courses and Webinars

Monthly Writing Webinars blueMonthly writing webinars held on Zoom are taught by Sharon DeBartolo Carmack, MFA. They are 60-90 minutes and include time for questions. The cost is $30 per webinar. Scroll down to enroll in the webinar you’re interested in and to pay through PayPal. The sessions are not recorded. No cancellations, refunds, or rescheduling less than 24 hours in advance.

Writing Your Family History

Tuesday, 23 Mar. 2021, 12:30 pm Pacific / 1:30 pm Mountain / 2:30 pm Central / 3:30 pm Eastern / 7:30 pm UK

Learn how to research and write your family history as a nonfiction story, putting ancestors into historical context.

Suggested reading:

Writing Your Spiritual Memoir

Tuesday, 20 Apr. 2021, 12 pm Pacific / 1 pm Mountain / 2 pm Central / 3 pm Eastern / 8 pm UK

Learn how to write your spiritual journey as a compelling memoir.

Suggested reading:

  • The Art of Spiritual Writing: How to Craft Prose that Engages and Inspires Your Readers by Vinita Hampton Wright

Online Courses through Salt Lake Community College

GEN 1016 Tracing Immigrant Origins

GEN 1090 Writing Life Stories

GEN 1111 Genealogy and Family History Writing

GEN 1151 and GEN 1152 Preparing for Certified Genealogist I and II